facebook-logo twitter-logo


Local News

  • Parent Category: News

Dickey wins mayor's race in Gibson City

In Ford County election news, Gibson City Mayor Dan Dickey was re-elected to his fourth consecutive four-year term by defeating challenger John Carlson. It was a 555-247 margin of victory for Dickey.

The 60-year-old Dickey said “We’re going to keep moving forward in Gibson City.”

Carlson is a 3rd Ward alderman.

Incumbent Harold Forbes won re-election to his position as village board president in Melvin. Forbes received 68 votes in his victory over challengers Joseph Cornell (34) and Edwin Miller (27).

94.1 WGFA

  • Parent Category: News

Kankakee Mayor, Epstein, defeated; Bourbonnais and Bradley incumbents win re-election

In a close race in Kankakee, Alderwoman Chasity Wells-Armstrong has defeated Mayor Nina Epstein — 1,918 to 1,703 votes.

Independent candidate James Stokes received 455 votes.
Bradley and Bourbonnais voters overwhelmingly reinstated incumbent mayors.

Mayor Bruce Adams defeated Trustee Mike Watson with 61 percent of the vote.

In Bourbonnais, Village President Paul Schore received 58 percent of the vote, defeating Jeff Keast for a second time.

94.1 WGFA

  • Parent Category: News

Allhands wins 4-way race for Watseka Mayor

John Allhands wants to focus on economic development when he moves into the Watseka Mayor’s office. The Mayor-elect was a winner in a four-person contest in Tuesday’s Consolidated Election.

Allhands, who has been a 4th Ward alderman, earned 42% of the voters support. He grabbed 425 votes to 259 for runner-up Mike Marcier. Bill Nutter collected 188 votes and John Burch 137.

“We have areas that need work, but Watseka also has a lot to offer,” Allhands told 94.1 WGFA-listeners after the win Tuesday night. “I look forward to moving forward with economic ideas and also working to get our police department training and modernizing their efforts.”

Allhands also said he wants to direct efforts to downtown Watseka; we have to make it more inviting.”

Current Mayor Bob Harwood did not seek re-election.
Six other mayoral contests were on the Iroquois County ballots Tuesday.

Jeff Mabbitt won the Sheldon mayors race, defeating Frank Davenport Sr. 185-49.

Milford’s David Maro held on to the Mayor’s office with a win over challenger Ron Johnson 108-76.

In the Village of Iroquois. George Runkle defeated Jack Karr for the village presidency.

At Cissna Park, Michael McCray defeated David Walder for mayor, 222-61.

In Buckley, Sheree Stachura was a winner over Ardell Goetting.. At Loda, the Village President race went to Carol Arseneau, 45-31, over John Zalaker.

94.1 WGFA

  • Parent Category: News

Pembroke Township shooting death investigated

A man is dead after a shooting this (Tuesday) morning in Pembroke Township.

Kankakee County Sheriff's Police confirm the shooting The shooting occurred at a home in the 11000 block of East 7000S Road, near the Illinois-Indiana state line.

Authorities including police and Kankakee County Coroner Bob Gessner were called to the scene shortly after 7 am.

94.1 WGFA

  • Parent Category: News

Braidwood Police investigate possible murder-suicide

Two brothers were found dead inside a Braidwood home on Sunday night. Police suspect it was a murder-suicide.

Braidwood police report 25-year-old James A. Benson lived at the home in the 200 block of Park View Lane. Benson and 35-year-old Joseph O. Burgess, of Bourbonnais, were pronounced dead at the scene.

Investigators report both men were shot once.

Police responded to a 9-1-1 call concerning a quarrel between the brothers. Authorities said police had been called to the house for a previous fight between the brothers in the past several years.

94.1 WGFA