facebook-logo twitter-logo


Local News

  • Parent Category: News

Watseka church helps flood victims with 'shed'

The Centennial Christian Church in Watseka is coordinating with the Emergency Management Agency to provide sheds for flood victims.  Contact the church 815-432-3812.  Sheds will be provided based on need. The International Disaster Emergency Service is organizing with the Centennial Church.  The effort begins Friday.

The Iroquois Couty Emergency Management Agency continues to coordinate the recovery efforts for flood victims.  Help and answers to questions are available at 815-432-6997.

94.1 WGFA 

  • Parent Category: News

Iroquois County’s Long-Term Recovery committee reorganizes

The Iroquois County Long Term Recovery Committee put former Watseka Mayor Bob Harwood in charge of the group that’ll help direct efforts to assist flood victims.

The committee, made up of several individuals representing many agencies, will focus on distributing monetary donations to those in need. Harwood knows it’s a long-haul effort; the process takes many months or longer to get people back to normal.

The assistance provided includes financial, psychological and spiritual support. In addition, volunteers will reach out with physical help for those unable to do many things on their own. Coordinating the continuing process takes ongoing meetings and discussions to meet the needs of people.

The long-term committee first organized after the 2008 flood, when Watseka and other Iroquois County areas were devastated by flood waters. The committee was also pressed into action for floods since 2008, including the 2015 event
The group of about 30 people organized again at First Trust and Savings Bank, which has an established account for monetary donations. The public is invited to get involved with several different committees.

Harwood is serving as chairman, replacing Kerry Bell, who headed up the committee since its start in 2008.

94.1 WGFA

  • Parent Category: News

Statewide Tornado Drill Today (Tuesday)

Tornado season is here and preparedness is key. The National Weather Service will be conducting a statewide tornado drill in Illinois today.

The Weather Service says Weather Radio, radio and television stations, cell phones and sirens will all be activated at 10 am for the drill.

The National Weather Service office wants area residents to take time to consider what you would do in the event it was a real tornado warning.

A Tornado Watch simply means that conditions are favorable for the possibility of tornadoes to develop.

A Tornado Warning means a tornado has actually been sighted.

For protection you should move to your basement or get under a heavy table or workbench, if possible. If you have no basement take cover in small, interior rooms on the lowest level – such as a bathroom or in a closet. It is preferred that those areas have no windows.

If you are in an office building or school, protect yourself in an interior hallway or a lower floor. Avoid auditoriums or gymnasiums or other structures with wide, free-span roofs.

If you are in a mobile home or vehicle and a tornado warning is given, it is best that you leave them and go to a substantial structure. If there is no shelter nearby and the tornado is approaching you should lie flat in the nearest ditch, ravine or culvert with your hands shielding your head.

94.1 WGFA / 96.9 AM 1360 WIBK

  • Parent Category: News

DACC officials seeking input on strategic plan

Danville Area Community College is hosting two public planning forums on Thursday to gather input on the college's strategic plan. And citizens in the northern part of the DACC district can participate in one of the forums in Hoopeston.

The first will be held at 4 pm in Room 306 of Vermilion Hall at DACC's main campus.

The second will be held at 6:30 pm at the DACC Higher Learning Center in Hoopeston.

Robert Mattson, DACC's executive director of institutional effectiveness and planning, said officials want to hear what’s working, what could be improved or what could be eliminated. Your opinion matters as officials develop a strategic planning 'matrix' for the coming year."

People who are planning to attend may RSVP to the president, by calling 217-443-8850 or emailing This email address is being protected from spambots. You need JavaScript enabled to view it..

94.1 WGFA

  • Parent Category: News

Unit 9 school district invites public to hear State of the District March 16

The Iroquois County Unit 9 Board of Education invites the community to hear its 2018 State of the District report.

Registration is required for the 5:30 pm meeting Friday, March 16. The event is at the Watseka High School.
Call the Unit 9 office to register at 815-432-4931. Deadline to register is Friday, March 9.

A meal will be provided at the start of the evening followed by informational sessions. Breakout session topics include instructional technology, district finances, partnering with other districts: coops and options for reorganization, facilities, elementary curriculum, and information on school board elections.

Board members and school staff will be on hand to answer questions. The community is invited to learn about what is happening at Unit 9 schools along with what the future holds for the district.

94.1 WGFA