facebook-logo twitter-logo


Local News

  • Parent Category: News

Schaumburg family benefits from Danforth Fire cash bash

The support for injured Watseka high school player Hayden Schaumburg and his family just keeps on coming. Support for the Danforth Fire Department turned into another blessing for the Schaumburg family of Watseka.

The Danforth Fire Department held its 17th annual cash bash Saturday, November 1. An Americana hand-made quilt by Carla Jean of Onarga was donated to auction off. Carla had no specific requests on where the proceeds should channelled. The members of the Danforth Fire Department agreed that the proceeds of the auction were to be split between the Schaumburg family and the local food pantry upon the donors approval.

Auctioneer Mike Henrichs (Danforth) went to work and Ken and Tammy Cailteux of KC Communications (Clifton) purchased the quilt for $1,500.00. The Cailteux's DONATED BACK!! The quilt was RE SOLD and purchased by Dave and Rhonda Meyer of Dave's Carpentry (Gilman) for$1,200.00. The quilt was again, DONATED BACK AND RE SOLD!! The quilt was auctioned again and purchased by Greg McMillan and Rene Cox (Gilman) for $500.00.

The last 50/50 raffle, $250.00, was donated back by the winner, David and Shelly Albrecht (Danforth). A free will donation was also collected to assist the Schaumburg family prior to the auction. The free will donation collected $1,200.00 alone.

The total collected for the Schaumburg family from the Danforth Fire Departments cash bash was $3,800.00!!! Another farm community-showing of support from small towns America ! Danforth Fire Department says "Stay Strong, Hayden!

94.1 WGFA

  • Parent Category: News

Gibson City man convicted of mail fraud

PEORIA — A 61-year-old Gibson City man faces federal prison time and fines up to $250,000 following his conviction on federal mail fraud and other charges. Carl Kieser was convicted for selling a product that prosecutors said led to the death of fish in ponds and lakes across the country.

Kieser will be sentenced February 19th in federal court in Peoria.

Following a five-day trial, a jury deliberated for one hour last week before finding l Kieser guilty of mail fraud and illegal application of a pesticide inconsistent with its labeling.

Kieser had previously been convicted of four counts of tax evasion.

The Gibson City man faces a maximum sentence of 20 years in prison and a fine of up to $250,000 for mail fraud; five years in prison and a fine of up to $100,000 for tax evasion; and one year in prison and a fine of up to $50,000 for applying a pesticide inconsistent with its labeling.

According to court records, Kieser owned and operated Aquatic Control of Illinois, a business located at his Gibson City Fishing and Camping Club, south of Gibson City on Illinois 47.

"The government presented evidence to establish that from June 2006 to September 2012, Kieser purchased large quantities of a pesticide (Diuron 80DF) registered with the U.S. Environmental Protection Agency for the control of land-based weeds." U.S. Attorney's office spokeswoman Sharon Paul.said "The EPA-approved labeling for Diuron 80DF warns that the chemical should not be applied directly to water due to its toxicity to fish and other aquatic wildlife."

Assistant U.S. Attorney Eugene L. Miller said Kieser manufactured, advertised, sold and distributed a product he called Pond Clear Plus as part of a fraud scheme. {submitted info from U-S Attorney's Office}

94.1 WGFA

  • Parent Category: News

Tax hike questions voted down in Iroquois County

Referendum questions seeking tax hikes were voted down in the Iroquois County communities of Crescent City and Sheldon. The Sheldon proposal was to establish local police protection while voters in the Crescent-Iroquois #249 school district were asked to OK a levy increase.

The school district voters said 'No' voting 250 - 223. It would have increased the EAV to 5.12 percent from the current 4.32%.

Voters in Sheldon were asked to authorize an additional property tax of 0.6 percent of equalized assessed value of taxable property for local police protection.

The voters said 'No' casting 129 opposed votes to 120 in favor. That was a 52% to 48% margin.

94.1 WGFA

  • Parent Category: News

Incumbents win Kankakee County Board races

Nine of 15 seats on the Kankakee County Board were uncontested in Tuesday's election. Of the six contested races, Democrat Sam Payton defeated Republican Jacquelyn Sneed in District 4. (Payton will replace outgoing Democrat John Howard).

Fourteen of the 28 board seats were up in this election.

Republican Janis M. Peters was a winner, defeating Democrat Ray Chamberlain.

Incumbent Republican Chris Tholen defeated Democrat Jeff Jarvis in District 10; Republican Carol Webber, who was appointed to replace Todd Arseneau in District 11 defeated Democrat Budd Meents to fill the rest of the unexpired term; incumbent Republican Stephen Einfeldt defeated Democrat Terri Miazga in District 22, and incumbent Republican Jim Tripp defeated Terry Schnell in District 24.

Republicans now hold a 22-6 advantage.

94.1 WGFA

  • Parent Category: News

Vermilion County un-opposed election winners

Vermilion County Sheriff Pat Hartshorn, Treasurer Sue Stine and Supervisor of Assessments Mathew Long were re-elected Tuesday without opposition.

94.1 WGFA