facebook-logo twitter-logo


Local News

  • Parent Category: News

Suspension for teen charged for making school threat

A 16-year-old Paxton juvenile is now charged with Disorderly Conduct for alleged threatening comments made last week. The boy was charged Tuesday in Ford County Circuit Court. The alleged comments prompted a "soft lockdown" at PBL schools.

Superintendent Cliff McClure had said the teen was not at school when the threat was made. Records reveal the boy allegedly told his mother that he was "going to get a gun and come back and kill her and then shoot the school up."

The boy was released after a psychiatric evaluation.

94.1 WGFA

  • Parent Category: News

Funeral services announced for U S Marine Steven Hancock

Services have been announced for Coal CIty High School graduate and Marine Lance Cpl Steven Hancock. He died in a military training exercise last week.

Visitation is set for Thursday 3 to 8 PM, at First Christian Church in Morris. Services will be at 10 AM Friday at the church. Burial will be at Abraham Lincoln National Cemetery with full military honors.

Hancock died May 19th during training exercises in North Carolina. He was the son of Sue and Mike Hancock of Goose Lake.

94.1 WGFA

  • Parent Category: News

Gas line leak dismisses BBCHS students early

A natural gas leak Tuesday morning led to an early dismissal for students at Bradley-Bourbonnais Community High School. The school's website reported the gas line leak was discovered in the school parking lot about 10:30 am.

Nicor Gas crews were at the scene to make repairs. Superintendent Scott Wakeley couldn't say if repairs would be made in time to resume classes Wednesday.

Wakeley said the disruption would not change the school schedule. The semester is still scheduled to end next Tuesday.

94.1 WGFA

  • Parent Category: News

Kankakee Veteran's Council observes Memorial Day

The Kankakee Veteran's Council held it's Memorial Day Observance on the Kankakee County Courthouse lawn Monday morning.

John Fulton is president of the council and said it was nice to see so many people in attendance.

"It's wonderful to see; the crowds have gotten bigger the last 2-3 years," the Herscher veteran told WGFA News. "For a guy like me who's been involved in this for 45 years, it feels very good and all the veteran feel happy."

Bourbonnais resident and veteran of four tours in Vietnam, Roger Bean was the guest speaker and he said those who stayed home had the hardest job of all. They worried about their soldier overseas, then tried to help them readjust once they returned.

"The families suffered the most. They bore the scars without knowing why; once they progressed down the road toward healing, they became more aware. And we hope today's Iraq and Afghanistan veterans find it more easier to adjust," Bean said.

The Kankakee County Veteran's Council includes the American Legion Post 85, Kankakee DVA Chapter 34, Kankakee US Marine Corps League Detachment 1253, Kankakee County Veterans' Assistance Commission and Kankakee VFW Post 2857.

{Rob West, 94.1 WGFA News}

  • Parent Category: News

Signs of patriotism for Memorial Day

The sounds of municipal bands, taps, and 21-gun salutes filled the air Monday.  Several communities, civic  organizations and veterans groups, respectively hosted services to remember and honor the war dead.

Patriotic songs, speeches, and wreath-laying events were all part of the memorial services at cemeteries and American Legion and VFW posts.  High school bands also participated. 

At Danville's National Cemetery, National VFW Inspector General Terry Vance said "we should celebrate their service while remembering their service."

94.1 WGFA