facebook-logo twitter-logo


Local News

  • Parent Category: News

Payroll clerk charged with theft, $31,000 taken from Gibson City grain firm

50-year-old Carol McShane of Gifford (IL) faces a Class 2 felony charge of theft.

The former payroll clerk for Specialty Grains of Gibson City is charged with allegedly paying herself twice her wage on six occasions and making fraudulent wire transfers to an account in her name.

McShane allegedly stole more than $31,000 from the firm.
Ford County State's Attorney Matt Fitton filed the felony charge of theft of between $10,000 and $100,000.

Court documents show that McShane allegedly paid herself twice her wage for a two-week period six different times....totalling over $11.000.

McShane also allegedly sent unauthorized wire transfers of over $19,800 from Specialty Grains into an account in her name in Mount Vernon.

94.1 FM, WGFA

  • Parent Category: News

Paxton man charged in DeWitt County shooting

A Paxton man is facing charges of attempted murder and aggravated battery with a firearm.

27-year-old Jesse L. Emmerson is accused of allegedly shooting 36-year-old Jason Allison of Danville. The shooting is said to have taken place inside a car in Farmer City on September 8.

Sheriff's Police in DeWitt County report Allison was shot in the chest. Alone in the car, he drove about a half-mile to a convenience store where he went inside, reported he'd been shot and collapsed.

Police said Allison is expected to survive.

94.1 FM, WGFA

  • Parent Category: News

Iroquois West students treated at hospital after car collides with school bus

                                     - Driver charged was enroute to Iroquois Court -

Iroquois West School Superintendent Dr. Linda Dvorak reports 22 Iroquois West Middle School students have been treated and released from a hospital after the bus they were riding in was struck head-on Thursday morning.

Dvorak reported there were 23, including the bus driver, transported to Iroquois Memorial Hospital in Watseka.

They've all been treated and released having suffered just minor bumps, bruises and soreness.

Thirty-seven students were on the bus, headed to the middle school in Onarga, when it was struck head-on by a car driven by Delon T. Dalton of South Holland (IL). The accident happened just after 8 am on S. Crescent Street in Gilman.

15 students were released to their parents at the scene.
Dalton was transported to Iroquois Memorial Hospital and later airlifted to Carle Foundation Hospital in Urbana. A Carle spokesman reported Dalton was in fair condition.

Iroquois County Sheriff's Police said Dalton was on his way to Iroquois County court in Watseka when the accident happened.

Gilman Police officer Kaleb Kraft reported the bus driver, Gloria Huizenga of Crescent City, was southbound on South Crescent Street when Dalton's passenger car crossed the center line as he was negotiating a curve, striking the bus head on.

Dvorak said the students on the bus handled the situation well.

The Superintendent said "This is what you practice drills for. The kids were wonderful. "They did exactly what they were supposed to do."

Ambulances from Buckley and Milford and Gilman Fire, along with Iroquois Memorial Hospital and Riverside Ambulance responded. Gilman Police, Iroquois County Sheriff's Police, Illinois State Police also responded.

94.1 FM, WGFA

  • Parent Category: News

Illinois State Police Arrests

                                                   District 21 DUI and Drug Arrests

ASHKUM, IL- Illinois State Police (ISP) District 21 is reporting the arrest of David A. Zarate, 25, of Kankakee for Driving Under the Influence of Alcohol; and Kyle K. Malone, 25 of Kankakee for Driving Under the Influence of Alcohol and Possession of Cannabis less than 2.5 grams.

On September 14 2013, at approximately 2:36 A.M., an Illinois State Trooper was on patrol in Kankakee County. The trooper observed a vehicle in the middle of the roadway with considerable amount of damage. The trooper approached the vehicle and observed the driver, David A. Zarate, 25 of Kankakee, asleep in the driver's seat. The trooper woke Zarate and could detect a strong odor of an alcoholic beverage coming from his breath. Zarate admitted to consuming alcoholic beverages that night. Zarate was transported to Riverside Hospital due to the damage of the vehicle. While at the hospital Zarate was placed under arrest for Driving Under the Influence of Alcohol. Once released from the hospital, Zarate was transported to the Kankakee County Jail for processing.

On September 14 2013, at approximately 2:42 A.M., an Illinois State Trooper was on patrol in Kankakee County. The trooper observed a vehicle traveling at a high rate of speed. The trooper stopped the vehicle and spoke with the driver Kyle K. Malone, 25 of Kankakee. While speaking with Malone the trooper could detect a strong odor of an alcoholic beverage coming from his breath. The trooper also observed open cans of alcohol in the vehicle. The trooper had Malone perform the Standardized Field Sobriety Test which Malone failed. Malone was placed under arrest for Driving Under the Influence. During an inventory of the vehicle, cannabis was located. Malone was transported to Kankakee County Jail for processing. Malone was charged with Driving Under the Influence of Alcohol and Possession of Cannabis less than 2.5 grams.

  • Parent Category: News

School Bus - Car collide in Gilman

There has been a car/bus crash in Gilman, and several students from Iroquois West have been sent to the hospital.

The accident happened just a short time ago on 3100 block of South Crescent Street in Gilman.

Ambulances from several surrounding communities were sent to the scene, and a few children were transported to Iroquois Memorial Hospital with what appear to be NON-life threatening injuries.

Details are still sketchy, but Gilman Police are investigating the accident, and we expect to hear from Iroquois West schools with an update soon.

(reporter Mack Berry 9/19/13)

Peggy Martin works at a gas station on the curve on US 24 near the center of town in Gilman. She said people coming into her store said the red car was in the wrong lane and the bus driver could not avoid the collision.

94.1 FM, WGFA