facebook-logo twitter-logo


Local News

  • Parent Category: News

Three way race for GOP Sheriff nomination in Ford County

The Race for Sheriff in Ford County is the only current contested race for 2014.

Two-term incumbent Sheriff Mark Doran of Gibson City is challenged by two Republicans. Paxton Police Chief Bob Bane of Paxton and Dennis Higgins of Gibson City. Higgins is serving as Ford County Emergency Management Agency coordinator and is a former Gibson City police chief.

94.1 FM, WGFA

  • Parent Category: News

Livingston County Sheriff primary features 4-person race

A four person Republican primary has taken shape in the sheriff's race in Livingston County.

The resignation of former sheriff Marty Meredith put the wheels in motion for what could be one of central-Illinois' most interesting political races for the March primary.

Chief Deputy Tony Childress, former Sheriff Marvin Rutledge, Dwight police officer Mark Scott and former Fairbury Police Chief Jack Wiser all filed their petitions.

The filing period for the March 2014 primary for county, state and congressional races ended Monday.
Former Pontiac Police Chief Al Lindsey was named sheriff in October after Meredith's resignation.

Childress was initially sworn in as sheriff as Meredith's designated successor, but the Livingston County Board appointed Lindsey so as not to give an unfair advantage to any of the candidates running in the March primary. Lindsey said he would not seek the job on a permanent basis.

94.1 FM, WGFA

  • Parent Category: News

Iroquois County-wide offices un-opposed

The county offices of County Clerk, Treasurer, and Sheriff are unopposed for the March primary.

Lisa Fancher of Gilman filed for re-election for County Clerk. Mindy Kuntz Hagan of rural Sheldon looks tor re-election for Treasurer; and Derek Hagen of Watseka filed for re-election for Sheriff.

94.1 FM, WGFA

  • Parent Category: News

Contested races unfold for Iroquois County Board

The 2014 Iroquois County primary election will offer voters contested-races in three of the four county board districts. But, despite grumblings about dissatisfaction, not a single Democrat filed to run.

Six of the nine County Board members seeking re-election in the March 18th Republican primary will face opposition.

The filing period ended Monday afternoon.

The only uncontested race for board seats is in District 1, where three incumbents — Daniel Rayman of rural Clifton, Kyle Anderson of rural Beaverville and Lyle Behrends of rural Ashkum — are running for three available seats.

The ballots will offer contests County Board Districts 2, 3 and 4.

In District 2, incumbents John Shure of rural Buckley and Rod Copas of rural Onarga are running against former board member Dan Pursley of Lake Iroquois, Loda. Two seats are up for election. Copas is the Board Chairman.
In District 3, there's three open seats. Incumbents Marvin Stichnoth of Milford, Donna Crow of Milford and Troy Krumwiede of Watseka are vying for re-election. Also running is a former Green Party candidate. Vince LaMie of rural Milford filed for a county board seat. He was a former candidate for state representative in the old 105th district.

County Board District 4 finds two newcomers running. Larry Hasbargen of Watseka and Dan Joyce of rural Watseka are challenging veteran incumbent Russell Bills of Watseka. Two seats are up for election. One-term Incumbent Scott Watts of rural Watseka did not file.

94.1 FM, WGFA

  • Parent Category: News

Ludlow man dies in Champaign County crash

An autopsy is scheduled Tuesday for a Ludlow man who died in a single-car crash late Sunday.

James Cremeens, 58, was driving west on County Road 3300N in northeast Champaign County at about 9:30 p.m. Sunday, according to reports from the County Sheriff's office. The car hit a patch of loose gravel, left the road and rolled. Cremeens was thrown from the vehicle, which caught fire.
Cremeens was pronounced dead at the scene of the crash at 10:50 p.m. Sunday, according to the Champaign County coroner's office.