facebook-logo twitter-logo

  • Parent Category: News

WCHS Athletic Award Nominations Sought

The Watseka Community High School Inspiration Award Committees are seeking nominations for the 2018 Academic and Athletic Inspiration Awards.

The Inspiration Award has been established to recognize and honor men and women connected with Unit 9 schools whose accomplishments, service and character have exemplified, developed, and encouraged positive traits and attributes to enhance future achievements by Unit 9 students.

Previous Academic Inspiration Award winners are Steve Brock, Tony Allegretti, Steven Wellborn, Herbert Allen Myers, Varis Purkalitis, Alfred Nutt, Helen Todd, Norman
Owens, David Bergstrom, Dr. Lonnie Laughlin, Michael Dowling, Hannah Garry, Dale Flach, and Robert Strickler.

Prior Athletic Inspiration Award recipients include Coaches Keith Baldwin, Leroy Morley, Gordon McKenzie, Don Wene, Joe Sutfin, and Barb Redeker; the 1963, 1975, 1987, and 1988 boys basketball teams; the 1946 and 1959 football teams; the 1985 girls volleyball team, Ditty Lynch, Patty Carrell Maney, Wally Swanson, Jack Redman,Charles Fowler, Rod Yergler, Bruce Sullivan, Victor Sampson, Dick Geddes, Jennifer Lynch Dixon, Larry Donaldson, Pamela Langellier Weidert, Dick Martin, David Peabody, David Mitchell, and Brad Odgers.

The Inspiration Award Committees are particularly encouraging nominations from the 1940’s, 1950’s and 1960’s. Nomination forms can be obtained from the Unit 9 or WCHS offices or from the web at www.watseka-u9.k12.il.us.

Nominations must be submitted by April 15, 2018. The 2018 Award Winners will be honored during Homecoming Weekend, September 14-15, 2018.

94.1 WGFA