facebook-logo twitter-logo

  • Parent Category: News

‘No-Shows’ make news at candidates forum in Iroquois County

Candidates for the Iroquois County Board in the March 18th Primary Election may have sent the strongest message to voters. They didn't offer a voice concerning issues at a candidates forum in Watseka Thursday night.

Just four of 13 county board candidates on the upcoming ballot appeared to answer questions at the forum, sponsored by the Watseka Area Chamber of Commerce and the Iroquois County Republican Women's Club.

Two of the four are incumbents seeking re-election, Russell Bills of Watseka (District 4) and Donna Crow of Milford (District 3). Two other would-be newcomers are Larry Hasbargen of Watseka (District 4) and Vince LaMie of Milford (District 3).

Chamber of Commerce spokesman Mike Potter said all the candidates were invited, including those in un-contested races.

The event's emcee, Tim Waters, announced District 2 candidate Dan Pursley of Loda and District 3's Troy Krumweide (Krum-we-dee) explained they were unavailable and out of state.

Candidates choosing not to attend and participate included Dan Rayman of Clifton, Kyle Anderson of Beaverville and Lyle Behrends of Ashkum – all of District 1. Also not attending were John Shure of Buckley and Rod Copas of Onarga from District 2, Marvin Sticknot of Milford from District 3, and Dan Joyce of Watseka (District 4).

94.1 WGFA