facebook-logo twitter-logo

  • Parent Category: News

Contested races unfold for Iroquois County Board

The 2014 Iroquois County primary election will offer voters contested-races in three of the four county board districts. But, despite grumblings about dissatisfaction, not a single Democrat filed to run.

Six of the nine County Board members seeking re-election in the March 18th Republican primary will face opposition.

The filing period ended Monday afternoon.

The only uncontested race for board seats is in District 1, where three incumbents — Daniel Rayman of rural Clifton, Kyle Anderson of rural Beaverville and Lyle Behrends of rural Ashkum — are running for three available seats.

The ballots will offer contests County Board Districts 2, 3 and 4.

In District 2, incumbents John Shure of rural Buckley and Rod Copas of rural Onarga are running against former board member Dan Pursley of Lake Iroquois, Loda. Two seats are up for election. Copas is the Board Chairman.
In District 3, there's three open seats. Incumbents Marvin Stichnoth of Milford, Donna Crow of Milford and Troy Krumwiede of Watseka are vying for re-election. Also running is a former Green Party candidate. Vince LaMie of rural Milford filed for a county board seat. He was a former candidate for state representative in the old 105th district.

County Board District 4 finds two newcomers running. Larry Hasbargen of Watseka and Dan Joyce of rural Watseka are challenging veteran incumbent Russell Bills of Watseka. Two seats are up for election. One-term Incumbent Scott Watts of rural Watseka did not file.

94.1 FM, WGFA