facebook-logo twitter-logo

  • Parent Category: News

Mayoral Races Hi-Light Iroquois County Election Results >

Watseka Mayor Bob Harwood and Gilman Mayor Rick Theesfeld were winners in Tuesday’s consolidated election in Iroquois County. The two, respective leaders in their communities were among the mayoral candidates in seven other villages that made up the contested ballots.

Harwood pulled 57% of the vote to out-distance challenger John Burch by a vote margin of 544 – 413.

Theesfeld meanwhile, received 378 votes to Andy Johnson’s 130 in a 74 to 26% margin of victory in Gilman’s race.

Theesfeld will welcome two new members to his city council. Steve Fancher won Ward 2 over incumbent Sharon Strohschien while John Elliott defeated Robert Hartke in Ward 3. Incumbent Mike McGehee was re-elected in Ward 1, defeating Larry Pankey and Tom Hamilton.

In Watseka’s Ward 1 aldermanic race, Marvin Purvis fought off a challenge from Mark Garfield.

Buckley has a news mayor. Evan Shockley defeated James Hull.

Donovan mayor Ken Ward was re-elected, defeating Dennis Karr Sr.

Ronald Dudley won a 3-person race for Loda mayor. David Maro won re-election for mayor of Milford. And incumbent mayor Russell Williams lost his re-election bid in Woodland to Eric Morales.

94.1 FM, WGFA