facebook-logo twitter-logo

  • Parent Category: News

Iroquois County Board addressing transparency in Government….

    … Committee Proposal Continues Elected Officers Salary Freeze

A governmental push to inform citizens of what’s going on with their government finds Iroquois County trying to do just that.

County business transactions will be posted on the county website to comply with Public Act 97-0609.  Total compensation benefits, including wages and benefits over $75,000 is required to be posted.  The board’s management committee is suggesting compliance . since the act was to be implemented in 2011.

Elected officials meanwhile, are required to meet a requirement of being trained on the Freedom of Information (FOIA)Act.  All officials, including county, township and school officials must meet the 2012 required training.

The Iroquois County Board Finance committee also voted 6-3 (Thursday) to continue a freeze on the set-salaries of Circuit Clerk and Coroner.  Election year requirements call for salaries to be set 180 days prior to the election.  The salaries of the Clerk and Coroner Office have been frozen since the last election four years ago…the Circuit Clerk at $52,000 and the Coroner at $36, 600.

The State’s Attorney Salary of $128,950 is set by the State, based on county population.

Finance committee member Rod Copas, who also serves the Negotiation committee, said raising salaries would put the county in a tough position for bargaining.  He said raises could create more problems.

The County Negotiation Committee is currently in talks with AFSCME and FOP union employees.

While current salaries have been frozen for four years, however, the County Board also approved the hiring of a new full-time position (Director of Financing for $65,000 a year) and the former part-time County Board Administrative Assistant position is now a full-time position; both salaries including benefits.

Finance committee members voting FOR the salary freezes were:  Charles Ault, Russell Bills, Kevin Hansen, Kyle Anderson, Dave Hubert and Rod Copas.  The three voting AGAINST included Jim Meyer, Susan Wynn Bence and Don Deany.


94.1 FM, WGFA